Read More

The Coodabeen Champions Make The Queen’s OAM Team

The famous ‘Coodabeen Champions‘ radio team have made the Queen’s Birthday OAM list for 2022. Greg Champion, Jeff Richardson, Billy Baxter, Andy Bellairs, Jeffrey ‘Torch’ McGee all won for their service to performing arts and to radio. Ian Cover won for service to the community through a range of roles.

The Coodabeens who are now heard on ACE radio’s 3MP have been part of sports-radio culture since the early 1980s. The Coodabeen Champions also includes Simon Whelan who returned to the team after a decade-long absence while serving as a judge of the Supreme Court of Victoria.

Others to receive an OAM for their service to radio were Marilyn Bennet and Florence Forbes.

1 Comment

  1. Well deserved honours for a group of legends I’ve been listening to since they began. A group of legends a lot of us have shared their adult lives with! Congratulations Gentleman, all of those factions and societies from the 80’s would be so proud, especially the “Commence Nuclear Testing At The Western Oval” faction.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts